Skip to content

Merchandising, Merchandising!

June 3, 2011

So I’m digging through my portfolio of old and unfinished art, looking for ideas to turn into teeshirts and coffee mugs to get some much-need moolah in the house, and I come across a folder of stuff I collected a handful of years ago when I was trying to devise a series of tee shirts using classic arcade video game icons with funny, adult humour. I liked teh concept, but I could only think up one or two gags that really worked for me; stuff like Ms. Pac-Man swimming around in a womb-shaped maze running from ghosts that looked distinctly like cartoon sperm. I might still do that one, actually. But for the most part, I just couldn’t get enough good ideas together, and nobody else was offering any suggestions.

Today, however, a new concept hit me: arcade video game heroes dropped into modern video games. I’ve already got a handful of ideas, and I’m skimming over the Classic Games Arcade archive for other ideas. I’m gonna keep them to myself a little bit longer, but I’ll be sure to show a few of the shirt ideas to you when I get some graphics prepared.

ETA: First Tee-Shirt design here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

