Skip to content

Second Week Report

May 23, 2011

Okay, so I more than doubled my site visitor stats during the past week, which is cool, though almost all of you still refuse to comment. Ah well. Mayb enext time

I have come to the conclusion that people seem to like it best when I say funny things about video games, and they also like game reviews that are likewise told in a less-than-serious (but quantifiable) manner.

I was planning on doing some of my own reviews, but I wasn’t set on the idea of  actually rating games. I don’t actually believe ratings are the most helpful thing, especially given the wide variety and high subjectivity of ratings systems from one site to the next. One site awards five stars, while another awards ten tomatoes, and I’m pretty sure I saw one that dished out slices of pie. Those are all cool, though I’m not entirely sure that they matter. However, owing to the obvious success of those sites, it seems that most of you disagree with me, which is something I’m coming to grips with.

Therefore, I decree that, when I am not working on an upcoming article, or running errands for my wife or my mother or my sister or my cats, and I’m not sleeping because doing lots of errands makes me sleepy… I will start posting game reviews, too.

This should be interesting. I play games really frelling slow. I have games that have been installed and uninstalled between OS purges, never to be completed again. I could probably create an entire list of games I haven’t finished playing because they either bored me, confused me, or made me so anxious with uncertainty that I basically drifted away to go do the dishes… for, like, five years. Which, as my wife will tell you, is fairly average behaviour for me. I loathe doing dishes.

So that just leaves the thousand-dollar question: what ratings system should I adopt? If I use the five star approach, it’ll seem like I’m imitating my friends over at the http://www.AdventureGamers.com site. If I use strict percentages, I’ll have to do some pretty hardcore math to justify things, especially since I’m the only one here (so far) writing reviews (my buddy Mike doesn’t write for me… yet).

A fun idea was to do a kind of pie chart thing, only, because pie isn’t as important around here as lasagna, I was kinda thinking of developing a lasagna chart. Not sure about that one, though. May have to develop some visual aids to demonstrate that later. As in, after I get Illustrator working on my computer properly again.

One other idea that really appeals to me, and that I can probably implement immediately, is to use a Loading Screen meter, a bit like the one I designed for Life Flashes By (which Deirdra hadn’t asked for, couldn’t use, and didn’t need in any case). I’ll have to remove the background I’d used and maybe tweak it to fit the current blog theme, but here’s the original:

Obviously won’t be using the Deco corner devices, either. Just the bar (which is already in segments in the AI file I can’t access ATM), and maybe some new text labels, depending on the progress and whatever sounds funny but helpful.

Any suggestions?

Lee.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 2:16 pm

    I like the progress bar idea. Implies a more constructive approach to reviewing, like a “how far they have to go” sort of thing.

    Also, it would be super cool if you could repost the LFB review you did on Facebook here on this blog. Because, you know, blogs are easier to link to and stuff.

  2. Blithering Idiotted permalink
    May 31, 2011 12:20 am

    That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

Leave a Reply

